Who is required to take driver’s ed?
Any teen driver who wishes to get a real driver’s license must take
either a pre-licensing course or a driver’s ed course in order to be
able to take their road test. Teenagers do not have to take driver’s ed
to get a learner’s permit. They just have to pass the written test.
Adults applying for a new license or transferring a license in from
out-of-state do not have to take a New York driver’s ed course.
What agency regulates it?
The New York DMV regulates commercial driving schools, approves
instructor applications and reviews pre-licensing course curriculum to
make sure that it covers all topics mandated under state law. The DMV
also investigates complaints against driving schools if
The New York Education State Education Department works together with
the DMV to regulate driver’s ed courses taught in high schools and
Who teaches driver’s ed?
In New York, all pre-licensing and driver’s ed classes are taught by
instructors that have been screened and approved by the DMV. There are
two types of organizations that offer New York driver’s ed classes.
Pre-licensing classes are offered by private commercial driving
schools. Driver’s ed classes are offered in state-approved high schools
and colleges. Therefore, the exact instructor requirements depend on
the type of course being taught and whether the course is being offered
by a private commercial driving school or an educational
In New York, instructors who teach the pre-licensing course must be
approved by the DMV. In order to teach the 5 hour pre-licensing class,
instructors must obtain a driver’s education instructor’s certificate
or a driver’s school instructor’s certificate. Potential instructors
must have a valid driver’s license. If their license has been suspended
for excessive traffic violations, at least 24 months must have passed
since the license was reinstated. Also, the DMV asks about criminal
convictions before issuing instructor licenses, and some criminal
convictions will bar you from getting an instructor’s license.
For in-school driver’s ed classes, prospective instructors must have a
valid secondary school teaching certificate if the course they are
teaching is being offered through a New York public school. Also, they
must have a good driving history and have taken the following 12 hours
of courses from a state-accredited college:
- Basic Driver Education Teacher Prep Program
- Trends and Problems in Driver Education