Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online

Speeding Ticket Fines

If you do get convicted of speeding in New York, you can expect to pay a pretty penny in fines and court costs. The amount you'll pay depends on how fast you were going when the officer stopped you. There is also the potential for jail time, although that's uncommon. Fines are usually assessed according to the following schedule:

Miles per Hour Above the Speed Limit Amount of Fine Possible Jail Time
Up to 10 miles per hour $90-$150
Up to 15 days
11-30 miles per hour $180-$300 Up to 15 days
More than 30 miles per hour $360-$600 Up to 30 days
Going too fast for conditions (see Basic Speed Law info below) $45-$150 Up to 15 days


The schedule of fines above only applies for a first offense. You may be assessed even higher fines if you've had more than 1 speeding ticket in the past 18 months. Usually, the fine is increased by $100 on a second offense and by $250 on a third offense. Also, New York speeding tickets get assessed a $55 state surcharge that you'll pay at the same time you pay your ticket. Now, just because you've paid the fine amount that the court told you to, don't assume that the state of New York is done sticking its hands into your wallet. Each traffic violation that you are convicted of adds a certain number of points to your New York driving record. If you have too many points, you can expect to pay an annual surcharge on your license.  Surcharges start after you accumulate 6 or more points within an 18 month period. The surcharge amount for the first 6 points is $100 per year for 3 years. For each point on your license after the first 6, you'll get charged an additional $25 per year. If you get 11 points in 18 months, you can lose your license.

To see how easy it can be for a habitual speeder to make it to 6 points, take a look at the point values for the speeding violations below:

  • 1-10 miles per hour over the limit or speed not indicated on ticket: 3 points
  • 11-20 miles per hour over: 4 points
  • 21-30 miles per hour over: 6 points
  • 31-40 miles per hour over: 8 points
  • more than 40 miles per hour over: 11 points

Driving University Online Course